Tips for better blogging

blog_wordle
As I wrote in another post, I have been blogging for more than ten years now for different purposes.  I have blogged as a research diary, to narrate personal experiences, as a travel blog, to give light to my reflections on teaching, to write book reviews, for professional development, but the uppermost use I have given to blogs has been to enhance my students’  experience of learning.  Thus, blogging has provided me lots of learnings and challenges.

 Learnings in the personal sphere:

I have learnt:

  • to reflect on issues and act on them
  • to endure the tough times
  • to communicate my thinking in a different type of means
  • to be more critical and skeptical
  • to empower myself telling my stories to others

Learnings in the professional  arena:

I have learnt:

  • to build up on ideas for research
  • to keep on writing for discipline
  • to make questions
  • to connect with other people’s research
  • to be able to use blogs and other tools efficiently for research and teaching

Learnings in the teaching arena:

Blogging can:

  • enhance students’ level of motivation and engagement
  • increase time on task
  •  increase quality on task
  • provide  more meaningful tasks
  • contribute to create a community
  • contribute to the development of life skills
  • offer rich and authentic content;
  • can contribute to develop different language skills

In short, I can say that I consider myself a successful blogger because I have learnt a significant number of things as a result of blogging. Shall I continue blogging for professional and personal purposes? You bet, I will. This is why I dare to give tips to improve the blogging experience.

Some tips  for better blogging:

  1. Write for yourself. Focus on your own ideas and reflections.
  2. If you start blogging as an assignment, explore the blog’s possibilities beyond the task. The fun comes when you do that.
  3. Use tags to organise your posts. You never know when a post you wrote a long time ago can be useful.http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/tags/
  4. Acknowledge the sources of images/photos from the web. It is not nice to find your own photo on somebody else’s blog.http://search.creativecommons.org
  5. Do you want an audience? Use Facebook, twitter and other blogs to advertise your blog.
  6. Don’t expect too many comments at the beginning. It takes time and lot of marketing to be well known.
  7. Trolling is not as common as you might think. Feel free and safe to express your thoughts on the web.
  8. Blogging is not only writing. Explore widgets, photo galleries and other amazing things. https://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress_Widgets
  9. Personalise your blog. Write about yourself. Choose pictures that say something about yourself and the purpose of the blog.
  10. Have fun!

 

 

Pictures

 

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

One comment

  1. Reblogged this on Technology in L2 curriculum and commented:

    I wrote this post on another blog, but I think some of the followers of Technology in L2 could be interested in reading this.

Leave a Reply

